The first edition of the Jamestown Journal (1826-1938) rolled of the press on the 21st day of June in 1826. Organized and established by Adolphus Fletcher and printed by hand press, the Jamestown Journal made its debut as a semi-weekly, 56 column newspaper.
The newspaper was unique, in that, its ownership was allocated to those who actively managed the paper. By the time the company celebrated its first 74 years of operation, the Journal Printing Co. had long done away with its hand press, gained the reputation of having superior equipment and processes when it was compared to Metropolises of the period, ranked as one of the leading papers in its class in the country and was a favorite of railway passengers traveling the Erie line.
In addition to producing its semi-weekly paper, the Journal Printing Co. also solicited outside printing jobs and acted as an engraving plant. Directories for Celoron, Falconer, Jamestown and Lakewood were commonly published by the Jamestown Printing Company.
The Jamestown Printing Company employed Frederick P. Hall who acted as president and general manager, Edwin Bradshaw who acted as vice president and editor, and James A. Clary who acted as city editor, in addition a 35 person crew in and around 1900.
The Fenton History Center has two copies of the first edition that debuted in 1826, along with other editions from years after, in its archive collection.