Annual Meeting Held at Shawbucks

Four New Trustees, 2022-2023 Officers Elected

The Fenton History Center’s annual meeting was held Wednesday, February 2, 2022 at 7 p.m. at Shawbucks.

The meeting continued the trend of new faces at the Fenton that began late last year when Noah Goodling stepped down as Executive Director. In addition to our new Executive Director Renee Freifeld, nearly half of the Board of Trustees 11 members finished another year on the Board. 5 Trustees left and 4 new Trustees joined the Board, and 3 of the 4 officer positions have new officeholders.

President Rick Lundquist called the meeting to order. The annual report was completed and distributed to those in the room. Renee Freifeld, the new Executive Director, was introduced, and all members of the Board and incoming Board members introduced themselves.

Officers and Trustee elections were conducted and all nominees were presented by Vice President Ashley Senske, Nominating Committee Chair. Dave Painter was elected to a third term while Janet Wahlberg and Ashley Senske were elected to their second terms. Four new Trustees were elected to the Board for their first term: Paul Bentley, Tom Goodwill, Mike Johnson, and Sharon Matson. 

Rick Lundquist finished his third term on the Board, noting one of the benefits of term limits is that they bring new people and ideas to the Fenton. First elected in 2013, Lundquist served as President from 2014 to 2017 and from 2019 to 2022.

Steve Johnson finished his third term on the Board, having also been elected in 2013. Kurt Johnson completed his second term and opted to not run for a third term while Julie Hewitt completed her first term without renewing for a second.

Secretary Mike Rohlin made the decision to step down in the middle of his fifth non-consecutive term. He served on the Board from 2007 to 2016 and from 2017 to 2022. He was President from 2008 to 2014, Vice President from 2017 to 2020, and Secretary from 2021 to 2022.

Officers elected for the 2022-2023 term were Janet Wahlberg as President, Ashley Senske as Vice President, Andrew Kolstee as Secretary, and Ang Cimo as Treasurer.

Following the business of the annual meeting, the trivia fundraiser commenced at Shawbucks.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment